Cost & Management Accountant (CMA)

About CMA:

These days, CMA course is gaining popularity among commerce students, who want to pursue a career in the area of Cost and Management accounting. Students are curious about the CMA course subjects, CMA course syllabus, CMA course exam dates and CMA course career prospects.So, in this this article we are providing all the important details for CMA course.

Over the time we have seen that people tend to confuse between various terms like CMA, ICMAI, CWA, and ICWAI. So, to end your all confusion, Institute of Cost & Works Accountants of India (ICWAI) has changed its name into The Institute of Cost Management Accountants of India (ICMAI). Also, ICWA course has been renamed as CMA course. There is no difference between ICWAI and CMA, and they are the same. They are two different words used to describe one single thing. ICWAI stands for Institute of Cost and Work Accountant of India whereas CMA stands for Cost Management Accounting. Apart from the literal meaning, there is no difference at all.

There are 3 stages in ICWA course,

  • CMA Foundation
  • CMA Inter
  • CMA Final

Here in this article we will give you complete details about the CMA course, like all the subjects which are part of CMA syllabus for all the levels of CMA exams (CMA foundation, CMA Inter, and CMA Final); the last date for CMA course, and the fee details for all the CMA courses.

If you want to become Cost management accountant, you should complete these three stages of CMA course. The Institute of Cost Accountants of India conducts CMA Foundation exam two times in a year in the months of June and December.

Course Details

About CMA - Foundation

A candidate may appear for the Foundation examination after passing the 10+2 examinations and completing coaching - either postal or oral. They are generally allowed to register with the institute for the intermediate examination.

A candidate should have passed Class 10 or equivalent from a recognized Board or Institution.

Passed Senior Secondary Examination under 10+2 scheme of a recognized Board or an Examination recognized by the Central Government as equivalent thereto or has passed National Diploma in Commerce Examination held by the All India Council for Technical Education or any State Board of Technical Education under the authority of the said All India Council, or the Diploma in Rural Service Examination conducted by the National Council of Higher Education.

Subjects covered in CMA Foundation